John-Lewis stopped the fight in the second round and handed Enzo Maccarinelli the 6th KO loss of his career. Ovill McKenzie was dishing out punishment on the 32-year old but Enzo never looked like he was in any trouble. The referee actually apologised after the fight and realised that he had made a mistake. You could see by the look on his face before he even stopped it, that he knew he was wrong to step in. But obviously the rules of professional boxing are that you can't let a fight continue once you have stepped in. We're just going to have to take it as a honest mistake. John-Lewis panicked and there's nothing we can do about it now except hope for a rematch.
Going back to the "karma" topic, does anyone remember Maccarinelli's fight with Shane McPhilbin earlier this year? Maccarinelli was knocked down in the first round and the bell rang 57 seconds early giving Enzo a chance to recover. Its not definite, but it was very, very likely that McPhilbin would have finished him if he had that extra minute or so. However, this doesn't compensate for what happened last night.
There's not much else I can say about the fight. It was just about to turn into an all-out war and had all the makings of a small hall classic. There needs to be a rematch!
By Jack Price @PriceyJ97.